August 24, 2016

China’s Zika Prevention Policy

Dear Valued Customer,

Following the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of the People’s Republic of China (AQSIQ) announcement, we would like to inform customers that all containers imported from countries/regions affected by the Zika virus into China are subject to anti-mosquito treatment (disinfection) at the place of origin or at the discharging port in China.

Please note that carriers are not involved in this procedure and all related costs for the necessary treatment shall be borne by the customer.

As of August 22, the affected countries/regions published in the AQSIQ website are:

Africa (2): Cape Verde | Guinea Bissau

Americas (45): Anguilla | Antigua and Barbuda | Argentina | Aruba | Bahamas (the) | Barbados | Belize | Bolivia (Plurinational State of) | Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba | Brazil | Cayman Islands | Colombia | Costa Rica | Cuba | Curaçao | Dominica | Dominican Republic | Ecuador | El Salvador | French Guiana | Grenada | Guadeloupe | Guatemala | Guyana | Haiti | Honduras | Jamaica | Martinique | Mexico | Nicaragua | Panama | Paraguay | Peru | Puerto Rico | Saint Barthélemy | Saint Vincent and the Grenadines | Saint Lucia | Saint Martin | Sint Maarten | Suriname | Trinidad and Tobago | Turks and Caicos Islands | United States of America | US Virgin Islands | Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Pacific (8): American Samoa | Fiji | the Marshall Islands | the Federated States of Micronesia | Samoa | Tonga | Philippines | Vietnam

Southeast Asia: (2): Indonesia | Thailand

Please take note that the country list is subject to change by the Chinese authorities. For the most up-to-date list, please refer to the AQSIQ website and for the latest developments at the regional/port level, please refer to the local CIQ (China Inspection and Quarantine) offices.

Thank you for your attention.

Related Reference

AQSIQ official site on Zika Prevention (In Chinese only):

USDA Update on China Requirements